Good Samaritan Education

For the first hundred years, the Congregation was responsible for the administration of our schools – often within parish communities and in partnership with the laity. In the latter stages of the 20th century, we recognised the need for a new model of governance and Good Samaritan Education (GSE) was instituted in 2011 as a diocesan civil and canonical entity known as a Public Juridic Person.

GSE was established to assume responsibility from the Sisters for the ministry of Catholic education in their 10 colleges across five dioceses in three states. They are:

    • St Scholastica’s College and Rosebank College in Sydney Archdiocese;
    • Mount St Benedict College and Stella Maris College in Broken Bay Diocese;
    • St Patrick’s College, St Mary Star of the Sea College and Mater Dei School in Wollongong Diocese;
    • Mater Christi College and Santa Maria College in Melbourne Archdiocese; and
    • Lourdes Hill College in Brisbane Archdiocese.

As a community of faith, established to participate in the ministry of Catholic education, Good Samaritan Education is enriched by its heritage, now taking on new form and new expression. The staff and students in these schools comprise over 10,000 people who strive to be educational communities infused with the Good Samaritan Benedictine spirit.